Menu

Have you read this way of teaching history "chronologically" by Cheryl Lowe?

hlee

Hi everyone,

Newbie here to homeschooling, trying to figure it out to start in the fall with DS (6 yrs old, super reader, in 1st grade right now but I'm sad to say I don't think he's learned much this year!!! Thus the thought to homeschool.)

I know the WTM suggests the chronological approach to teaching history, starting with the Ancients. But Cheryl Lowe, the author of Prima Latina/Latina Christiana suggests the following method, which they use at the Highlands Latin School where she teaches:

http://www.memoriapress.com/articles/Spring09/teach-history-chronologically.html

What do you think of this approach? Has anyone tried it, or does anyone have feedback on teaching history differently than the traditional Classical approach?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts. I love these boards!

Best,

Helen

ds, 6, will start homeschooling this summer/fall

ds, 4, will start homeschooling next year if I survive this year

ds, 18 mos, will start homeschooling if I survive the next couple of years!

Hi everyone,

Newbie here to homeschooling, trying to figure it out to start in the fall with DS (6 yrs old, super reader, in 1st grade right now but I'm sad to say I don't think he's learned much this year!!! Thus the thought to homeschool.)

I know the WTM suggests the chronological approach to teaching history, starting with the Ancients. But Cheryl Lowe, the author of Prima Latina/Latina Christiana suggests the following method, which they use at the Highlands Latin School where she teaches:

http://www.memoriapress.com/articles/Spring09/teach-history-chronologically.html

What do you think of this approach? Has anyone tried it, or does anyone have feedback on teaching history differently than the traditional Classical approach?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts. I love these boards!

Hi Helen,

I haven't read the article, but just skimmed over it now.