Menu

Saxon Disaster! Please help!

eksargent

This is my 1st year homeschooling. Saxon seemed wonderful. I'm sure it works for MANY...just not me!

My ds is 9 (4th grade). I started him with Saxon 3. The meetings were dreadful. It was way below his level. So I started skipping stuff...only to find out I would need info that I had skipped to do the following lessons. I ditched 3 and bought 4. It went a little better. It just does not flow with us. Go here, do this, go back there, do that, tell me this answer, you fill this out, where is the timer. UGGG!

I want something simple and to the point. I don't want to spend time on the process. I want our time focused on the lesson.

So, any suggestion? Please bail me out of this one! I'm even thinking of ditching Saxon 4 and getting some Kumon workbooks just to finish this year.

Please help!!!

I've got no experience with Saxon, but from what I've read, you're not the first with this problem. We like Right Start, but it's got a lot of pieces - it works best if I lay everything out the day before. For just a "get it done" thing I would go with Kumon or Math Mammoth (or a combo if one doesn't have all the topics you need to cover).

I really like Singapore math. When I looked at Saxon, the spiral approach seemed too repetitive. Singapore is very straight forward. If your child gets it the first time, you can move on to the next lesson. If they need more practice, there are plenty of resources that you can spend some time on to really reinforce concepts. You can go to SingaporeMath.com to look at sample pages and take a placement test.

I wanted to make sure ds got a firm foundation on math. I wanted to make sure we got the hang of homeschooling before I jumped into the hard work. That is why I chose Saxon 3. He did test higher. However, being our first year homeschooling, I wanted to build his confidence and establish our routine.