Menu

Total newbie question

Guest princessp

Guest princessp

Ok, so from my question yesterday it looks like the majority uses a curriculum. My son will be first grade this fall. How do I begin to look around for one? I know a lot of it will depend on what appeals to be but do most of you find a single curriculum that covers all the subjects better? Or do you use one for each subject? I bet one for each subject begins to get expensive, yes? Help me out, talk to me like I'm two. Where do I even begin? I was thinking of starting by researching the suggested programs in the WTM book and figured in researching those I'd find others to look at also. I'm just worried I'm going end up w/ ds falling behind from the begginning. :confused:

First of all relax. Your son won't fall behind if it takes you a few months to figure out what you're doing. :)

I'm assuming that you've read the WTM since you mentioned it in your post. I think it's a great idea to look at what WTM recommends and then widen your search if you don't like their rec's. It's important to know why you want what you do. Are you looking for strong academics, or lots of crafts or....? If you narrow down what exactly what style you are looking for then it limits your choices.

The recommendations that are in WTM are a terrific place to start. If you get those and then use them, you'll know what you like and don't like. If you decide to get something different then that's fine. Some people like to research curriculum and figure things out. Others like to order what seems reasonable without lots of angst and comparing between all possible options. Each way is fine, so long as it works for you.

I personally like to research curriculum and different homeschool philosophies. This gets me into trouble though, as I get distracted from my goals.;)