Menu

On the brink... WARNING...whine/frustration ahead

Ok... here goes... I am on the brink of quitting. Homeschooling is getting to be too much for me to carry, but public schools are not an option in my head and heart.

When I started the road to hs; mother's everywhere gave such encouragment... advice on curriculum, extra curricula, groups, online resources etc. But NO ONE told me how difficult this road would be. Perhaps I should mention that in addition to hs I am a web design editor working from home, a children's "pastor" at our church, and I run an online shop with my sister. I need the work to keep us ahead financially and I know that the church would be devastated if I stepped out there; as I am writing their curriculum for them.

I feel as though we can barely get any schooling done at all! We cannot afford Christian schools, although their is an excellent Classical school about an HOUR away (cost $6000/year)!! Oh, and I have 3 dc!

Maybe Classical Conversations would be good, but that's a 45 min. drive to the nearest one and even then that is only one day of relief/week.

Did I mention that I have VERY strong convictions about NOT using the Public School system?

Ok, I really need prayer, and maybe a cyber kick in the butt. The other day I literally could not breath thinking about the cost of private schools; I think I started to feel trapped in hs.

Beth

My SIL suggested this to me: offer to work at the Christian school (maybe teaching a subject/class they don't currently have or some other niche they may not have covered) . Sometimes there will be a tuition discount. You have a LOT on your plate so I don't know if this would work at all, but maybe you could trade off one of your many job hats to do this instead. Maybe worth a try.

Take care & God bless.

Jacqui

Oh, Beth! I'm so sorry!