Menu

Using ebooks in homeschool?

I am terribly embarassed to post this since I am a librarian, but I'm trying to figure out the best way (meaning cheapest, most efficient, greenest way) to utilize all of the great ebooks I have found with my children. Options I've considered so far: 1. Gather around the computer to read them which isn't cozy or mobile. 2. Printing them out which isn't cheap or green. 3. Purchasing an ASUS but then you are limited to places where there is wireless access which isn't conducive in vehicles. 4. Purchasing a Kindle but it seems there are issues with using Google books on them.

So, how do you use ebooks?

I'm so excited, because I just figured this out. Google books has a mobile site for the iPhone/itouch. I have an iPhone and yep, it totally works ~happy dance~. You might want to look into buying an old iPhone or itouch off of eBay. I know several people who have bought used iPhones, but don't activate the phone feature. They basically work just like the itouch. Like you, I just can't imagine printing off the books, so using an electronic device is really the only way for me. Hth,

It's not exactly green but I find that if you copy and paste some of the books into word or open office, you can reformat them with regards to font and line spacing.

I've found that some books when you reformat them, actually take up less pages as you are able to put more text on one page. I use pre-punched paper and print on both sides with my laser.

I hope that helps. It's my happy medium as my oldest does better with a paper book than an ebook. Little ds does okay either way but older needs the paper.

I hope this helps.

there are a number of PDAs that support eBooks that are a heck of a lot cheaper than an iPhone and do not require a data plan. i read eBooks on my Palm TX. this particular Palm can connect via wifi but i usually load ebooks to the TX by downloading them to a computer and then transferring the file.