Menu

Two languages at once in middle school

We ditched Latin, but I wanted to get back to it for my oldest.  However, my husband thinks Spanish would be the most useful for the kids.  I got an email with a review of a new middle school Spanish curriculum, Vamos, and it looks so great and colorful.  

Has anyone tried to do two languages at once? Quite frankly, I think I'd get confused.  I am working on French with my daughter, which is what I studied in school.

Some say you cannot be classical without Latin, and I get that.  But I do see how practical it would be to learn Spanish. Maybe it is this way everywhere, but we have a growing Spanish-speaking population.  

Posted (edited)

Based on the difficulties you were undergoing just 2 months ago from your posts in Feb/Mar, in which it sounded like you felt your DC were "behind" and that "classical" was not working for your family... ONE foreign language would be plenty for next year, and there would be no need for it to be Latin, if "classical" isn't working for you.

Also, unless you are fluent in a foreign language, it is extremely difficult to do a good job of teaching it to one's children, unless you're committed to learning alongside. And it doesn't sound like that is the place you are in at the moment.

So, maybe even better: skip foreign language entirely this next year, IF what your DS really needs is that time that would be spent on foreign language, to be spent on getting a very solid foundation in whatever Math and/or English Language Arts that he is currently weak in -- writing, spelling, grammar, reading-that-is-moving-into-beginning-literature...

Just a thought. BEST of luck in finding what works best for your family.

Edited by Lori D.
  • Like 6