Menu

Spelling/writing help for a 4th grader? (tutoring student)

TheReader

Hi all! 

I'm tutoring 2 little girls after school; the 4th grader reads beautifully, has great comprehension, needs a little support with math but otherwise strong there, but her spelling/writing ability is stuck at really a late K/early 1st grade level. 

I'm not an expert, but it could be dyslexia, where she's learned to read via sight words but just cannot get the words down on paper when having to write. This is things even like number words, etc. and copying things from a reading text to answer worksheets (the difficulty copying is what makes me wonder about dyslexia, that's one of the trademarks as I understand it). 

So, I have Barton, and will be using that with little sister, and have used it before to aid with spelling in a kid with a minor slow down/delay/difficulty, but am wondering if there's something better suited for targeting *just* the spelling side of things??  

Would All About Spelling be good for this? Something else? 

I'm not in a position to do any formal testing or evaluation - I have administered the Fry Reading Level test, sight words test, and am going to do the nonsense words test on a whim, in case her ability to decode is as low as her ability to spell - she does rush/fill in based on context when reading (so, gets the words right, but looks ahead/guesses the context and may create a sentence that contains the right components but not as written, if that makes sense...).