Menu

Are Coupons cheating the system or legit?

I just joined this program that helps you maximize coupons. I've never done coupons before, but my friends are all raving about how much they get for free or close to. I have a weird feeling and I wanted to get some opinions away from my people who use it (and I'm not going to say which one it is).

On the message boards, the gals are constantly talking about how some of Store X are taking certain coupons, but other Store X's aren't, the stores that double coupons when they're not supposed to, how you can use more than the stated amount of coupons at certain stores, etc. and I almost feel like these coupon programs are taking it to the extreme - are they taking advantage of the system? Don't get me wrong, I'm thrilled with the 15 boxes of cereal I got this last week for $5, but I only felt comfortable getting them b/c I wasn't taking up all that the store had. I'm not into stocking up on something that's free just b/c it's free, kwim?

So, I'd love any feedback on if people feel that all of this is legit or if anyone else feels weird about it. Do you feel that it's fine to take coupons to the max? I think it is all legal, but for some reason it feels gray to me.

some of Store X are taking certain coupons, but other Store X's aren't, the stores that double coupons when they're not supposed to, how you can use more than the stated amount of coupons at certain stores, etc.

This seems to cross the line, IMO. Using coupons for what they say, no matter how many, is fine (though I agree that I wouldn't take everything on the shelf). I spend the time each week to match my coupons with the sale paper at the one store I go to, and average about 30% savings. If you have the time to go to lots of stores and use different coupons at different places, go ahead! But I do think using coupons differently than they are written is dishonest, even if the cashier lets you.