Menu

Math curriculum for procedurally strong, conceptually weak students who've previously been "taught" using Khan Academy

Malam

Hi all! I am looking for some advice on behalf of my partner's family.

So for some background, there are two siblings (B and C, 10 and 13 respectively), who are currently homeschooled and are now having trouble with their math skills. I am a math teacher at a public school, so they are asking me for help now that I am off for summer break. Everyone here is in Texas in case that changes anyone's advice.

They are currently using Khan Academy as their main "curriculum" for math. The kids are struggling now as Dad has no time to help them, and Mom is out of her depth in the level and processes used with the program. Looking around at the site, Khan is built to be a homework/practicing supplement to a full curriculum, so I am not surprised that the kids are struggling to learn new material when they are just bombarded with doing problem set after problem set with no real outside support. The videos are difficult for them to understand at times, and even when they're clear, the kids seem to struggle to retain the knowledge and apply it to other problems than the ones in the video.

I wanted to see if there are any suggestions for a homeschool curriculum that I could present to the parents because they are asking my opinion on how to help. They are considering a local co-op, but with $$$ issues it's not looking like it will be an ideal situation. I don't think that them solely using Khan Academy at this point is a wise choice as the kids need some interaction and help with a person and not just videos and practice problems. I personally think that getting them into a classroom with peers and a teacher would help, however I respect their decision to keep their children out of the system and will not be putting forth that idea.

Someone asked for help on the homeschooling subreddit; you can find the post here