Menu

Interesting science suggestions?

Pintosrock

I'm trying to think of a plan for next year (third grade.) I've been winging science for the last three years and I'm completely exhausted. What options are out there?

What we've done thus far:

K - classes at local museum/nature center. Not currently an option.

1 - read Magic School Bus and Read and Find Out books until they fell apart and bought second copies. Completed random experiment books, focusing on scientific method. 

2 - Microscope unit (summer), 4H entomology book (fall), electricity/snap circuits (winter) We did begin the year attempting Chemistry for the Grammar Stage, but when Grandpa gave us his old microscope, that quickly fell off in favor of the vastly more interesting microscope.

While dd8 has had a fair bit of science, some part of me worries that it's so hodge-podgey and disconnected. Should I find a curriculum and follow it through, so that she gains a complete science picture? But then I think, she's had more science than I had (public school) at her age!

In any case, I'm tired of planning my own thing. What cool, interesting science curriculums are out there?

I dont really plan a systematic sequence of topics for my kids. They read through books on science topics of interest.  It ss very low key and low stress for me bc I know that all science below high school level science is about simple exposure and nurturing curiosity. High school science starts at an introductory level.

I take the above approach until their first high school science cr (either 8th or 9th grade.) I have 3 adult children with science/health related degrees (chemE, physics, OTA) and a college sophomore majoring in atmospheric science. All of them were/are top of their class students. Textbook science curriculum didnt offer their school peers any foundational advantage.