Menu

Budding Electronic Engineer? Need help!

Lovin' Life

In connection with the book "The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind," our group had a fun party.  One of the activities was to let them tear apart some old electronics to see what they look like on the inside.  We had a dad at the party who was a tech guy, so he could tell us what the things did and how they worked.  My DD12 was absolutely and completely engaged and LOVED it! Who would have guessed!  She didn't want to stop! 

I am wondering if anyone has any fun ideas or other ways for her to start to learn and explore this area to see if she might want to do something in this field as a career.  She is really strong with math, so that is a plus, I would assume.  Any other suggestions?  What should I have her try as far as classes?  Please help!  I am a tech flop!  I am so lost in this area, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

• Like 1

I went to public school and starting from about middle school they had all these programs directed toward girls interested in STEM. I wonder if you could ask your local public school if they know of some of these programs local to you. For some I just had to pay for supplies, some were fully sponsored, and some needed payment but had a lot of scholarships available. I did everything from science/math teachers doing fun activities afterschool once a month, to field trips to local businesses, to women in engineering volunteering their time to do a day camp where girls got to do fun projects in different fields and talk about their experience in their field.