Menu

I’m not ready for this

MEmama

DS leaves for university tomorrow. I’ve managed to remain in denial until this afternoon, but now all his bags are packed, customs and immigration paperwork printed, and in the morning we drop him off at the airport. I started crying when he was petting the kitty; he is going to miss them so much. I am going to miss him so much.

I’m crazy mad proud and excited for him but…I.am.not.ready.

I honestly don’t know how I’m going to hold myself together.

• Sad 17

(((Hugs)))  This will be me on Thursday!  Our kitty is very attached to dd.  She is working on her customs papers today--she just got her Covid test.  I am so glad she is following her dream but western Canada is so far!

(The year I studied in Ireland I told my Dad that it was the best year of my life.  He sniffed and said, "It was the only year without me."  I can't believe I did that and hope your son doesn't do that to you.  But, Ireland is a great place to study and so relaxed after the US.)

Anyway, my youngest starting to cry distracted me when oldest went off.  I won't have that on Friday.  I will be thinking of you, though. 

• Like 2
  • Sad 3

Hugs. It is hard. When I dropped off DD her freshman year, I cried so much in the car on the way home. And your DS will be far away!

It is ok to be sad and to mourn the end of a chapter in your life. I feel there is often some stigma associated with this, as if it means the mother can't rejoice in their child's journey - but that's nonsense. Of course we are happy and excited for them, but we are also grieving for the loss. As complex humans, we can hold multiple emotions at the same time.

• Like 12
  • Thanks 4

I want to put these two poems here, for @MEmama and any other mom whose kids are leaving for the first time.

Journey

We set out a long time ago.
Years stretched before us, a vast land,
with pathways and hills to explore.
We journeyed.

Too soon,
we are nearing the shore of the sea
where you will embark