Menu

The Great Courses: Can we watch individual lectures?

I'm new to Great Courses; I just today signed up for the free trial for Wondrium. 

My question: As a general rule, can I have my child watch just individual lectures from various Great Courses? (That is, do individual lectures generally make sense on their own? Do they work as stand-alone segments?) 

What I'm trying to do: I'm using the Oak Meadow World History curriculum as our spine for world history, and I'm poking around through different Great Courses, looking for individual lectures to pair with our weekly reading assignments. I guess I'm just wondering if this approach will generally be successful? For instance: There is a 48-lecture course on ancient history that looks great, but we can't possibly spend that much time on ancient history. Can I just pluck out the lecture on the Nile River to pair with our readings about Egypt? (Basically, I'm concerned the individual lectures won't make sense if we haven't also watched all the previous lectures.) 

Thanks for any advice!

Edited by EKT

Thanks for the feedback! (I'd still love to hear from others, if anyone else would like to chime in!) 

I've been looking into this more since posting, and I think I am going to use Crash Course World History videos instead, for this particular course. (The Crash Course videos actually align pretty well with the Oak Meadow lessons and the readings I'm planning. Plus the Crash Course videos are much shorter, which is a plus with an endlessly expansive course like world history.) 

But I'll definitely be using Crash Course for other subjects... Thanks again!

Edited by EKT