Menu

Best Computer Science Curriculum for Elementary

Vida Winter

Hello, popping in here to ask about CS Curriculum. I don't know any of the "newer" languages - C++, Python, etc... and I need to tutor a third grader in CS on a long term basis. I can design my own curriculum but would prefer to not re-invent the wheel. Would love to hear some suggestions!

42 minutes ago, Vida Winter said:

Hello, popping in here to ask about CS Curriculum. I don't know any of the "newer" languages - C++, Python, etc... and I need to tutor a third grader in CS on a long term basis. I can design my own curriculum but would prefer to not re-invent the wheel. Would love to hear some suggestions!

If you have some programming experience in another language, then you will find python to be a joy to teach and learn.  For my elementary kids I designed lessons using Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner by Dawson.  It's written for adults, but hte conceit is that all the projects involve games, so it's very friendly for kids.  I wouldn't give an elementary student the book and tell them to work from it (it's written for adults) but it was easy for me to use as a scaffold for teaching.  

I have a couple of suggestions for books that could be used as spines.

Background:  Both my husband and I have bachelor's degrees in Computing Sciences and in my last position, I was a technical architect.  My husband set up an IDE for my son last year-ish so that my son could write his first Hello World in Java, but we haven't gotten back to it in quite a while....  2020 and 2021..... 

DK's Help Your Kids with Computer Coding: Scratch and Python mini-projects, true or false, data types, strings, loops.  Written to be very accessible.

https://www.amazon.com/Help-Computer-Coding-Step-Step/dp/1465477322/

DK's Help Your Kids with Computer Science - topics like binary,  what is hardware, etc.  It's written to be very accessible.

https://www.amazon.com/Help-Your-Kids-Computer-Science/dp/1465473602/