Menu

Curriculum for 1st, 3rd, 6th grades that can be done independently?

Bethany

I would love any and all suggestions for specific curriculum that works well for kids to do independently (any subject). I've been homeschooling for 6 years but normally spend a lot of time working with each kid individually. I'm a bit of a control freak and my kids are extraverts who enjoy learning with me. For the upcoming school year, we will have a lot on our plates and I will need them to do some things on their own. Hit me with your suggestions! Thank you.

At those ages, my kids could read independently and watch documentaries independently.  By 3rd grade, my older could do his math (Singapore) and grammar (KISS) independently. And by 6th grade he could do his violin independently. My younger son could not.  So, I've not had a whole lot of luck with independence in young children. 

• Like 1

Welcome! I see by your post count you are new.

In my experience, 1st and 3rd grades really can't be done independently. BUT, the good news is that you can easily knock out the core subjects (math and language arts) in under 3 hours for both -- 1 hour for the 1st grader and 1.5 to 2 hours for the 3rd grader -- and anything else they do will be icing on top. If your students all are working at grade level and don't need any special additional tutoring, then you can probably spend 1 more hour a day doing the needed 1-on-1 with the 6th grader, for a total of 4 hours of focused homeschool time on your part. That could be done from 8am-12noon, which leaves you the rest of the day to deal with the additional things you will have on your plate next year.