Menu

ROTC & Dyslexia

BlsdMama

ANY experience?

DS wants to contract.  He has been rejected on the basis of dyslexia.  He has NO accommodations and never has.  We thought about having an assessment done by someone fairly incompetent to overshadow his previous diagnosis in 2013.  Kiddo is definitely dyslexic but was remediated with OG methods and scored a perfect on the ACT in reading - phenomenally high memory even though homonyms throw him. 

Help? They are appealing but they hope to make the argument stronger.  I'd do a reassessment at our research hospital but the wait is 14 MONTHS.  His deadline is August.

So I have ZERO experience... but my dd is medically ineligible and has basically been told, "Lie if you can fake it."

(Not advice we are heeding, BTW, but it wasn't a civilian who told her this.)

I hope you get better info than mine, though!

Edited by MamaSprout
  • Like 1

Can he take the OCS applicant test and submit that score? It's called the OAR for the Navy but each branch has their own test or uses parts of the ASVAB. There's also the ASTB for aviation.

Could he talk to an officer recruiter about applying directly to OCS instead of contracting through ROTC? Even if he doesn't want to do this, they may be more knowledgeable about the waiver process. He should also try other branches since the requirements and waiver procedures are slightly different. 

• Thanks 1