Menu

Today is my last day of homeschooling

Dmmetler

L has the last final for the last CC/DE class, and after that it's just paperwork. M and C are doing online school next fall. It's the end of an era, and I'm not sure what I'm going to do next. (I know that I don't want to go back to teaching in a K-12 school, nor to teaching college ed/mued/child development classes).  I'm just not sure teaching and tutoring will fill the days. 

• Like 32

I'm close!  Just a few more weeks.  I have been juggling homeschooling and working full time for a few years now so it is more a relief than bittersweet.  And we have been FAR from the cozy days of playing with wood blocks to work on spelling and doing "sun days" when the weather is nice for years now.  At this point, I am more and administrator than educator.  But it will still be the end of an era.

• Like 5

Agreeing with what everyone else said.

I went through this a year ago.   It's a weird place to be.    Particularly if you have homeschooled for a long time.   For me, the pandemic has sort of kept me on hold for the past year too.

If you can, I highly suggest you just let the situation be what it is.   Don't fight it and panic that you don't have the next thing planned.   I think many people rush right into the next thing, without taking the time to be still and enjoy the mountain-top.

I liked homeschooling, and I miss it in some ways.    But it is really nice to have accomplished something like this.   And it's also very nice to not have the burden hanging over me any more.

So congrats!    Give yourself a big pat on the back, and take a deep breath and enjoy it!

• Like 2

6 hours ago, Dmmetler said:

It's the end of an era,