Menu

Something useful to do at my desk?

I work at a university and I won't have enough on it to keep me busy 40 hours a week over the summer, but I'm required to be there. It's a stupid rule. We have some people who finish their projects by 4th of July and play a lot of computer chess until early August. I'd work on French or Russian, but it's hard to do the talking part of a language.

I'm debating working on my Comptia certifications, but is there something else I should consider? I like computers/ IT, but prepping for CompTia is super boring, lol.

Thoughts?

Edited by MamaSprout

I would do something like painting, drawing, embroidery or knitting. 

I work in IT, learn languages, but I need my brain to be present. I find arts relaxing and rejuvenating. I am terrible at most of it but getting better. There is an extraordinary sense of satisfaction in creating something however bad with my hands. 

1 hour ago, Dreamergal said:

I would do something like painting, drawing, embroidery or knitting. 

I work in IT, learn languages, but I need my brain to be present. I find arts relaxing and rejuvenating. I am terrible at most of it but getting better. There is an extraordinary sense of satisfaction in creating something however bad with my hands. 

I could take my spinning wheel in, lol. 

I was thinking of something maybe not quite so obvious to my boss... However if I'm up in my office with a spinning wheel/ paint set/ knitting needles, they might let me start negotiating time off in lieu of a raise next year. hmmm...

• Haha 4
3 minutes ago, MamaSprout said:

I could take my spinning wheel in, lol. 

I was thinking of something maybe not quite so obvious to my boss... However if I'm up in my office with a spinning wheel/ paint set/ knitting needles, they might let me start negotiating time off in lieu of a raise next year. hmmm...

Hmmm...