Menu

Simply Charlotte Mason

What is the group opinion/experience with this curriculum?  I've just discovered it, and am loving what I'm seeing so far...BUT.  Last year, I fell in love with Memoria Press because their books were so beautiful...I started actually implementing it this year with my little ones...and I hate it.  So, I really don't want to fall into that trap again.  If you have any experience with the SCM curriculum, please share.  I'm very very new to Charlotte Mason, haven't read her books, but have "For the sake of the Children" on order, and am also looking for a used copy of Karen Glass' Narration Book.  So, I'm trying to educate myself...it's slow going.  

What initially inspired me to research Charlotte Mason was the discovery of Burgess Thornton's Animal Book for Children, which I got from Blossom and Root as a Science course for my DS5 and DD7.  They ABSOLUTELY adore that book.  They come running to read it.  They have been a bit more tepid towards the "lovely" Memoria Press Book read alouds that we've done so far this year.  I mean, they love being read to, but they don't ADORE the MP books like they do the Burgess one.  If there's more books like that around, I want to find them quickly before they grow out of that stage.  

I've looked at Ambleside, Wildwood, A Mind In the Light, My Father's World, A Gentle Feast, and Simply Charlotte Mason.  I'm drawn most to the SCM Enrichment Studies at the moment, specifically the Music and Painter studies.  I'm also intrigued by the Habits (Laying Down the Rails), but I'm a little apprehensive about that because that'll be hard for me to work on too.  I'm happy with my Math, and Language Arts Curriculums that I'm using so I'm not looking do SCM Language Arts program.  I'm not sure about history yet...I think we will wait a year or two.  

Any insight would be appreciated.