Menu

I don't like my US history curriculum...

Mommalongadingdong

This is my first year homeschooling, and am only schooling my 5th grader. She has a hard time focusing in school, and has thrived with the one on one instruction at home. She still needs a lot of explaining and repetition, and doesn't grasp big pictures and has a hard time connecting the dots unless explicitly told - and that is why I don't like my program.

We are doing Bookshark D (the US history 1) for history. I chose it because I wanted to align with the public school, she needs extra reading, and she prefers one on one time with me. I also have The Giant US History Timeline, Interactive US History Maps, and all the related Evan Moor History Pockets. Oh and 180 Days of SS Grade 5 and Joy Hakim's History of US series. I'm really only doing the BS readings/questions (which... come on this was only worth it for the schedule), and maybe one of those hands on activities a week. But I have those resources. They tend to not match up with what I have, and some see above her level or not interesting to her. I don't know if its okay to assign her something and work with it together entirely like for a writing assignment in those books I would have to explain the question and guide her through her ideas and writing. I don't know what a 5th grader should be able to produce, is that normal?