Menu

Weird detention policy

Have you ever heard of this?  In my kid’s current school, the teacher who gave the detention is supposed to facilitate the detention.  So, if a kid is horrible in class and the teacher gives them a detention, the teacher has to sit after school with the student they gave the detention to.  According to the principle, it is supposed to encourage a relationship between the teacher and student.  

What I think happens in reality is that the teacher doesn’t want to be punished also or stay later and just doesn’t give the deserved detention.  My daughter deserved quite a few by her own admissions.  The principle chalks it up to “a teacher not buying into the school philosophy” if they don’t give the deserved detention.  And some kids are clearly out of control with nothing being done to discipline them.  I’m just wondering if anyone has ever heard of this.

I used to be a public school teacher.  The only thing worse than a difficult kid in class is a difficult kid in detention. Detention at my school lasted until well after our contracted working hours.  In addition, it often interfered with our other responsibilities, such as after school clubs or required in-service courses.  We were responsible for the student every second from the end of school until they were called for the activity bus.  That meant that we were not allowed to take a phone call, go the the copy room, meet with another teacher, or even go to the bathroom.  

I did not assign after-school detention, it was so much work and it rarely corrected the problem anyway.

• Like 1

That, to me, is a strange policy. Teachers, in my experience, are responsible for organising the detention, but it's simply not possible for them to supervise all detentions. A system where a teacher volunteers to take students issued with detention that another teacher can't sit detention with can work well in certain situations. (In others, finding alternative methods of discipline is more helpful).