Menu

New with a large family - HELP!

Hello, everyone!  I am new to Classical, though I've done Charlotte Mason when my oldest few were younger.  Then we switched to more unschooling/relaxed, and the past few months we've been doing a little more trending toward traditional.  I just got The Well-Trained Mind from the library and loved the first half so much, I bought it.  LOL  I'm just not sure how on earth to do this.  I have 10 children, 17 down to 5.  5 of them are internationally adopted, so they are pretty far behind their typical grade levels plus some special needs going on (trying to figure all of those out).  My 5 bio kids also have some special needs (ADHD/giftedness, ASD/ADHD/anxiety, anxiety/dyslexia, and jury's still out on the other 2 but obvious there is something).

Am I crazy for even wanting to attempt something like Classical?  How can I make this work?  I am feeling like I need to do some remedial reading work with all 10 (my oldest is the dyslexic), and even though she has her own track trying to graduate on time next year and then go on to become an astrophysicist, she is, for the first time in her life, asking for direction, schedules, and a bit more "thinking matter."

Tips, suggestions, advice all welcome!  Thank you!

• Like 1

Welcome to the boards! You definitely fit in here. :smile: So I'll give you a quick tip, if you don't know this. You can google site search here and get ideas or track comments by posters you might identify with. So there are plenty of people who've posted here in the past 15 years who had large families with multiple kids with SN. You can use their name, a term, whatever, and site search like this:  terms site:welltrainedmind.com