Menu

What's with the ads?

Plum

What's the going rate for quilters cotton for face masks?

Since I've been searching for quilters cotton for face masks, I've been inundated with ads from questionably reputable online stores with a copyright of 2020. Of course they have beautiful coordinating sets. As a total newbie to this, some prices seem really high. Is there any fabric left? What's a good online store? My Joann's is across town and I can curbside pickup, but they seem to be out of everything. There's a few local quilt shops but I don't know what prices are reasonable and what fabrics I should prefer. I've been using stuff I had around the house or what I could buy at a big box store. I want to make some pretty masks for family now that I'm somewhat able to make a decent stitch by hand. 

Pre-pandemic, high quality, cotton quilting fabric, would cost between $11 and $14 dollars a yard where I am. That is fabric from a store specializing in quilting fabric only, which is a higher quality fabric than that at Joanns. So if they are asking above that they are price gouging. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2

I was really happy with equilter.com  https://www.equilter.com/category/0/equilter-departments

I got 3 pieces / patterns  each in smallest amount available one on sale Clearance pattern piece less than and two pieces at $11 something per yard, half a yard of each.    Some patterns are a lot more, but there was plenty at those prices.  

I liked looking at the patterns so much it made me want to try actually quilting!  

Fields Fabrics in Michigan had a lot too—a different emphasis on patterns and color palettes. More maybe “traditional”?   And more earth tones or hunting and farming type patterns. 

• Like 1