Menu

1 Spanish curriculum for 2 very different learners?

Is this even possible to find?

I have a 15yo dd who is 2e and  is a visual-spatial learner who prefers immersion-style learning and who has some significant executive skills weaknesses. She has completed 2 years of the Michel Thomas curriculum (conversational Spanish). Writing is very laborious for her, and most things take twice as long as the average learner. But to improve in Spanish, I believe she needs some work in written translation, because she is just not learning the conjugations by practicing them verbally. 

My 12yo ds is my audio-sequential learner who just finished the Spanish with Children series. He is gifted and can speed through any written work. He has a good grasp of basic grammar and a decent vocabulary, but conversation is extremely difficult for him. So he needs some conversational practice to improve.

I have a Spanish degree and am relatively fluent in Spanish. I had hoped to teach Spanish to my kids but have found that I really need a curriculum. Although my kids have very different strengths and weaknesses, they are at about the same level, and I would love to find a curriculum that I can use for both. Any suggestions would be welcomed. Thank you!

I think Avancemos might work for both. I have my oldest working through Breaking the Barrier which I love, but not everyone is capable at the pace set by BtB. I teach Avancemos at a hybrid school and I will be using it with my son next year. There are more conversation exercises and there is an extra workbook that provides a lot of great additional practice. Plus there are a lot of online components that help with practice. It is a little slow for an advanced learner, but probably a solid option to keep them together. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

The ULAT?

"visual-spatial learner" - check, ULAT is videos which use hand gestures to teach vocab and grammar
"immersion-style learning" - check, ULAT is entirely immersion