Menu

unschooling myself?

I need your advice. I've been homeschooling my eldest daughter for 5 years now - since kindergarten, and before that she didn't attend preschool nor daycare.

She gets discouraged very quickly. The moment she hits something non trival, she has a tendency to turn back and run away. I think this lack of maturity is the main reason, why she doesn't like to study - she doesn't like working hard on solving problems, she would like everything to be easy and I should provide her with all the answers at once. One example - she wanted to learn german, so we started working on it, but since it requires boring repetitions, she is becoming more and more impatient and discouraged.

In our homeschool, I like working with students' books and workbooks, because they correspond well with the end-of-year exams, children are obliged to take to be allowed to be homeschooled for the next year. I feel like I cannot let go of the school/work books, because they allow us to go smoothly through all the material the daughter needs to learn. People around me say, that school books are convenient, but very boring for children, and therefore should not be used. They say I should let children learn more naturally. Perhaps that is possible in grades K-3, as this is when the children are expected to learn to read, write, know basic grammar, do some basic maths (the hardest thing being multiplication and division) and acquire random facts about the world. This can be achieved without school books or worksheets. But what about older children?