Menu

Moving beyond the page curriculum

Hello I'm new here!

Has anyone used MBTP 4-5 level or not? I want to buy this for my two homeschooled pupils but I decided I would ask for advice first since this is my first time homeschooling and I am a nervous novice mom. What subjects are covered with the lowest level? Is the curriculum any good? I have been researching homeschooling curriculum options online and this is the only one that I actually liked the look of as all the other ones were too non secular for me to even consider. Please tell me what you thought of it honestly. Would you recommend it? I plan on using this in combination with unit studies and workbooks from time to time to supplement learning during classes too. 

Thanks in advance. 

We use the LA for grades grades 1/2 through 4/5, but I have not used the lower levels.  They are supposed to include everything except phonics.  Sorry I can't offer you more info on that.  I mainly wanted to point out the core knowledge curriculum to you.  The materials are free to download, though I would recommend just using a tablet for most of it.  The listening and learning strand is what you would want to cover science and social studies concepts.  Add phonics, handwriting, and math and you are done.  There are lots of good secular options for those.  If you wanted, could also use core knowledge for the skills strand of language arts, but it might get to be a lot of printing.  I personally like All About Reading for phonics and IEW printing with letter stories for handwriting.

• Like 1

I've used a unit in the higher levels (maybe 6/7 or 7/8) and I have mixed feelings. I would consider using them depending on the child.