Menu

How Instruction Impacts Learning

As promised I'm keen to keep our more interesting discussions alive. This is a topic that I've been thinking about for a while.

I've been a homeschool teacher for 16 years and been tutoring kids in math, science, and English for 5 years, and I have been working through lots of ideas about instruction vs learning.  Now I'm working my way through Learning Theories by Schunk https://www.amazon.com/Learning-Theories-Educational-Perspective-8th/dp/0134893751/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=learning+theories%3A+an+educational+perspective&qid=1578339612&s=books&sr=1-1

I've come to believe that teaching is not learning.  This seems like an obvious statement, but I used to top-down teach content in the most organized manner so that students (mine and others) could learn in the most efficient manner. I'm starting to believe that the development of attitude, motivation, and self efficacy are way way more important than content production and delivery. Two of my sisters are teachers (private HS science and Prof in Engineering at CC) and one is a counselor. The 2 teacher sisters decide what content to cover (unless dictated by AP exam or UVA engineering), produce and record lectures, produce handouts, design labs, and write and grade assessments.  My counselor sister sits one on one with clients and discusses their issues, suggests alternative ways to interpret, and gives them homework in the form of journalling to help them change their perceptions of self and how they face their problems.