Menu

nm

Ann.without.an.e

All of the successful farmers that I know have college degrees, so perhaps it would help her to talk to some actual farmers.  On the other hand, if she hooks up with some who did not, that could backfire if you really want her to go to college regardless of her ultimate career.  Perhaps skip top 10 schools and let her tour some land grant universities with strong ag programs.  I know my alma mater (Auburn--I was an ag major undergrad but then went to law school) has focused a lot in recent years on sustainable farming practices, so I would think others probably have as well.  They may have more to offer her than she thinks.

• Like 9

Is she burned out from school?  are you in a position to support her business experiments? how thorough is her plan?  does she understand it's the backroom that kills most businesses? (and most people aren't willing to put up with the deprivation while starting a business.) Is she wiling to take business courses on the side?  is there a business networking group in your area with people to whom she could speak about the realties of starting your own business?

I've known kids, especially after health issues, who needed break time to mentally recover as well as the physical before going back to school.  I also know kids who took their college money and started businesses.  

remember - bill gates was a college drop out.  we are long-time friends with one of his father's law partners (we found out later my mother went to high school with him,.).  I was chatting with (law-partner's) wife (don't remember how it came up) - gates sr was raging around the office the day bill dropped out of college.

• Like 1

There are a lot of farming internships, and it might not be a bad idea to try out one and see whether she really likes it so much or not.