Menu

words you see here but not "in the wild"

Preferably education-ish words

Dialectic. I have seen it here and maybe in some CAP or Circe stuff, but never anywhere else. I had to look it up. I thought it was more esoteric, like quadrivium. But then I was reading a John Taylor Gatto book (Weapons of Mass Instruction) and he used it regularly. I finally looked it up and wondered where it had been all my life. Oh. It is "just" a conversation with two or more points of view where people are trying to get at the truth through reasoned argument?! Slap a sticker on me and call me a banana. Now I can smugly say that my homeschool centers around dialectic conversation and it just sounds so amazingly intellectual.

• Like 3
  • Haha 7

2 hours ago, Jean in Newcastle said:

Every profession has technical language. This language isn’t unique to homeschooling but to education and classical education in particular. 

Exactly, when I studied my teaching degree several years ago I used all that education specific language in every essay 

• Like 2

2 hours ago, Expat_Mama_Shelli said:

I feel so much better now about having to look up so many words while perusing these forums.  😅 I mean, I knew my formal education was somewhat lacking - but there are times here that  I feel like I’m having to translate from another language altogether! 

I have that problem because just about everyone on this forum is from North America and I am from Australia. I have to translate my comments into another dialect, I am not sure I get it right sometimes as some of the responses I get seem to indicate I have caused offence somehow

• Like 3

1 hour ago, Jean in Newcastle said:

It seems appropriate to learn new vocabulary on a forum the celebrates learning and education. I hope that is never dumbed down.