Menu

A biochemistry question :)

Yes, I know - I teach the stuff. 🙂  But my degree is organic chem, not biochem, and so I'm always wanting to make absolutely, doubly sure that I'm correct on things.  And I'm 99% sure that I'm correct on this and the author is wrong but I thought I'd check with the Hive as I know there are some biochem folks here.

The author says the following structure represents trehalose:

image.png.386bcfddc7125e2b25b529b703bedd8f.png

I say it's not trehalose.  In fact, I'm not sure what it is - not a common disaccharde, that's for sure.  If it isn't trehalose (which I'm almost positive it's not), does anyone know what it is?  I say it's an alpha-D-glucose molecule on the non-reducing end and an alpha-D-galactose molecule on the reducing end connected by an alpha-1,4-glycosidic bond - which is NOT trehalose.  It's awfully close to maltose but the hydroxy on the 4' carbon of the right hand monosaccharide is "up" and not "down" (hence galactose, not glucose).  Truthfully, I don't really need to know what it is but it's bugging me. 🙂  I've even tried googling the systematic name (which I think is α-D-Glucopyranosyl-(1-->4)-α-D-galactopyranose) but no luck.  Any biochem folks out there?

Edited by Dicentra
Fixed the systematic name

1 minute ago, maize said:

I am not a biochemist.

Is this where the diagram comes from? It's what Google image search pulled up.

http://dept.harpercollege.edu/chemistry/chm/100/dgodambe/thedisk/carbo/ypostlab.htm

Yes. 🙂  I'm using the virtual lab as part of my course (and it's a great resource!) but I don't think the author has accurately named that disaccharide.  It's possible that he has, though, and I'm wrong which is why I thought I'd check. 🙂

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, wendyroo said:

I'm not a biochemist either.  But I found this structure labeled trehalose that to my amateur eye looks the same as yours.