Menu

What's with the ads?

Sign in to follow this  
Medicmom2.0

T1D question For Dr Hive

I was hospitalized with terrible blood sugars again, and they ran the type 1 diabetes antibodies, which came back positive.  I’ve had PCOS and about two years ago my A1C skyrocketed and they diagnosed me with Type 2.  My blood sugar came down some but not much with the oral meds. I caught the flu in January and that seemed to really change something, because I’ve had to be hospitalized several times since then with uncontrollably high blood sugar.

Has anyone heard of becoming a type 1 diabetic as an adult?  As soon as they put me on insulin, I’ve stabilized to a place I haven’t been in years.  They think I’m still producing a small enough about of insulin to keep me alive, basically.

Is this crazy? I’ve never heard of it...but I feel a lot better. 

Edited by Medicmom2.0

I'm no expert, but I do remember hearing about someone who was diagnosed in her 20s. Glad you're feeling better!

I don't think it's particularly unusual for adults to be diagnosed with T1D. I know that those with RA (and perhaps some other AI diseases) are considered to be at higher risk. But I don't know of anyone personally. 

• Like 1

My dad was diagnosed with Type I diabetes after my oldest sister was born, so about age 24 or 25.

ETA: It sounds like you have some autoimmune issues going on. Does anyone else in your family have AI issues? I have Hashimoto's, as do 3/4 of my sisters.

Edited by Martha in GA

If we're only referring to insulin dependent versus non-insulin dependent, then yeah -- my dad had that, which he developed in his early 50's. He was active and nowhere near overweight. But it was long enough ago that AFAIK doctors didn't commonly distinguish between insulin dependent/non-insulin dependent or T1versus T2. It was back when all diabetes was usually referred to as "sugar diabetes."