Menu

Your Relationship with the Teacher

As an afterschooler, I am trying to figure out the best way to coordinate with my child's new teacher on my daughter's education. It is most important to me that she learns logic and critical thinking skills, her own cultural history, and explore her own interest in natural science and astronomy (which she loves), all of which are things that are not taught in the public school curriculum. I also want her to practice writing (true writing), research and science (I am a scientist myself). But I foresee homework being a big problem, and I also don't want to overlap with the work I will be giving her along with the teacher.

Have any of you approached the teacher with your afterschooling plans, and have they worked with you in coordinating your curriculum, activities, schedule etc.? I want to ask for the teacher's curriculum plans and schedule for the year (this is not posted on our county education website like other counties), but last year I got a lot of pushback from the teacher, who seemed to be almost secretive about it.

What is your relationship with your child's teacher in your afterschooling journey?

I never once talked to my son's teachers (6th and 8th grade) about what we were doing outside of school.  For any work that went beyond hanging out on the couch, reading aloud, and discussing, I tried to piggyback it on to whatever homework was being assigned by the school.