Menu

Apply or not?

Jaybee

I'm struggling with a decision and could use some help thinking it through. After many many years of homeschooling as a SAHM, I started working about 30 hrs/wk 18 months ago. The job is not one that requires a lot of education (I have my master's), but my background (outside of master's) is helpful. The job requires a lot of detail work that must be done correctly, and I regularly use 3 different software programs besides the usual Office Suite. My pay is not high, but it isn't bad for this area, especially for a part-time job. I have a good relationship with my boss and the work atmosphere with the other workers is positive. It has flexibility, in that it is easy for me to take off to pick up my non-driver or go to the doctor, etc., or even to take unpaid days here and there above and beyond my paid vacation days. My boss is very happy with my work; I'm good at my job. But...I'm kinda' bored. And I'm not a young chick. I have never really wanted a career, but if I am going to have to work, I'd like to be doing something that I enjoy more and that uses more of my skills. 

So...I have always loved college campuses. I find them invigorating. I haven't really been looking for another job, but I still check local (and where my kids are) job postings from time to time. And the local college has a job opening that interests me. One ds is attending there, so I think after a year there might be an additional financial advantage toward tuition, but I'm not sure yet. More hours, more money, which would be helpful. It would put me in a position to be a bit of a mentor, which I would enjoy. I plan to talk to someone I know who works there, to get more information, but in general, the school has a good reputation and atmosphere.

My two big deals about applying: