Menu

Apologia General Science 2nd vs 3rd edition

JoyfulLife

There is a pretty significant sample on the Apologia website. https://view.publitas.com/apologia/general-science-sample-grade-7/page/1   It looks TOTALLY different than the Jay Wile book to me.  This one is visually more appealing, although I can't speak to the content.  I no longer have my old edition or else I'd dig it out and compare the TOC. You can see the TOC of the old version as well as a one page excerpt here on Rainbow Resource:  https://www.rainbowresource.com/product/sku/017414

FWIW,  I think very highly of Sheri Seligson, the author, having met and talked with her at a homeschool moms' conference several years back (she was a speaker).  She homeschooled all of her kids through high school and is a marine biologist by profession.   She is also the author of the Marine Biology textbook as well as the teacher on the Apologia Biology and Chemistry videos (my daughter used the biology videos last year and is using chemistry now).  I'd expect it to be a very good book since it is written by her.  

I've done 2nd edition three times.  2 times with typical learners and then a modified version with my youngest (special ed).  On a crazy whim after reading Wile's opinion a few weeks ago, I decided to get 3rd edition and do a general science review with my youngest (and not put it on the transcript). apologia was having a sale and I thought, why not since she is working at about that level due to disabilities.  She could use review of material and why not.  I'm sure there is something in science content that has been updated from 2nd to 3rd, but the question is whether it is all that big of a deal for the level of the book.