Menu

What's with the ads?

CuriousMomof3

How do you decide what "grade" your kid is in?

My own kid is 9, and so I'm pretty sure I don't actually need to know this, I'm just asking out of curiosity. 

I'm a high school teacher, currently at home with my kids, so I know that there is a huge range of abilities for kids in high school, and a similar range in college. 

So, if your kid is working at an accelerated pace, how do you decide when what grade your kid is in, and your kid is doing is "high school" and start counting credits?  And how do you decide when they graduate?  It doesn't seem like you can do it by content, because there are kids who go to school who take algebra or geometry in middle school or in high school.  There are kids who go to school and write like college students in 6th grade, and kids at college who write like 6th graders.  

So, how did you decide?  And once you decide how hard is it to change?  Like if I decide that this year is not high school, and I don't keep detailed records, and then later on I need the credits for some reason, can I just go back and change what I report?  

Edited by CuriousMomof3
Grammar

I would recommend stepping back and mentally working through another question first.  Do you want your child to have a childhood that matches his age or do you want him to be on a college campus with much older individuals?  Do you see him pursuing a career at a very young age?  These are the core questions that need to be wrestled with.  My bias shows by the way I phrased the questions.  We want our kids to be kids first and foremost.  As homeschoolers we can generally meet their academic needs by not approaching education as a sequence of courses as prescribed by the traditional public school system.  We branch out and explore lots of subjects and let them pursue subjects that interest them that most students never have the opportunity to do.