Menu

What is the point of AP classes?

EKT

I'm partly joking, of course, but I guess I'm wondering: why would I want to bother with AP classes and all the testing, etc., if my student is not guaranteed advanced placement in college at the end of it? Is it just to be a more competitive freshman applicant? (My understanding is that not all colleges accept AP classes for actual credit, or some colleges only accept a top AP test score to get out of, say, freshman English.) Wouldn't it make more sense to do DE with a community college, which (in my understanding) guarantees that your student gets the college credit? (In other words, why would I take AP English, if my student could just get her English 101 out of the way through DE?) I know I must be missing something obvious (forgive my ignorance; as I said in my last post, I'm a total newbie to the high school stuff!), but I guess I'm trying to figure out the pros and cons of AP vs. DE. What is your take? What are your kids doing? Thank you!

ETA: Okay, I've just learned in my other post that DE does NOT guarantee college credit 100% of the time, so now I'm even more interested to learn when and why I might opt for AP vs. DE. 

Edited by EKT
  • Like 1

One possible reason for AP over dual enrollment: more widely accepted by more universities than credits from some community colleges -- one reason for that is the quality of community college courses can vary widely from school to school which means the quality and value of the course to be transferred and counted as part of a 4-year for university varies widely. In contrast, the AP test is a national test, so results will be consistent for universities to evaluate as to whether or not to award credit.