Menu

Beast Academy

QueenLiza

I am new to home schooling, but not to after-schooling:) Looking to add more math to my daughter, who is 7. I see a lot of people on the forum recommending Beast Academy. What format are you using - online or workbooks? Is the textbook necessary? thanks!

I have no experience with BA online, or with the BA 2 level.

If you decide to go with the paper format you will need the guide book (comic book), which includes all the teaching and the practice book, which includes all the practice problems along with a few more pointers as to how to use the information that was just taught. If you do decide to go the book route, make sure you look at the assessment tests for the different level books to make sure you purchase the one where your daughter is at. 

Just remember that BA is not a good fit for every kid. That is one reason why there are so many math curriculum to choose from. There are samples of every guide and practice book online. It might be worth it to show some to your daughter and see if she likes the format and can do some problems. 

I used BA 3-5 for DS10, starting with physical books and moving to the online when it came out, at book 4C. I've just started level 2 with DS7, and we are going back to physical books for him. 

While I enjoyed the way the online program is set up, these two kids tend to easy frustration when getting problems wrong. The computer just seemed to amplify DD10's frustration and he wouldn't move on until I explained how he had gotten a problem wrong. I may move to the online version eventually for DD7, but for now we will stick to physical books. And yes, you do need the guide books, that's where the concepts are introduced and where the fun is!