Menu

Can random summer camps and community classes count as high school credit? Particularly in regard to Fine Arts and PE?

DD is a rising 7th grader. In the back of my mind I thought that maybe we would enroll her in the local high school for the upper grades (not sure why I would honestly think this). It's becoming clear that we are just not going to be doing that. So, I'm studying up on high school homeschool options.

Is there an article somewhere that explains how to assign credit for high school classes? We are rural and have limited easy options for physical education and fine arts. If I sign her up for a variety of one-off art classes at various art studios via Girl Scouts and perhaps the St. Louis Art Museum, etc., can these count as high school fine arts credits?

How about canoeing, paddle boarding, archery, etc. classes through Girl Scouts? Or, independent scuba lessons? Can these count as credits for physical education? What about a week-long horse camp or whitewater rafting (not that she'll do the latter, lol)? Is there a list of what sports count as physical education? What about various science camps? Can those count for something?

Also, if I can assign credit for the above mentioned options, can we spread the credits out over a couple of years? One hundred fifty hours (or is it one hundred eighty) seems like a lot of art and PE to keep up with. Can she complete maybe 1/4 credit of each per semester for two years? TIA!

Edited by pitterpatter

I kept track of dd's hours participating in her volleyball club plus any other physical activity she participated in such as running, biking, horseback riding. Every 180 hours counted as one credit. We did this for two years. She had at least six hours of volleyball a week alone which gave her a full credit each year. 

• Like 1