Menu

Famous Men of vs Guerber

lulalu

Neither. Both are too mature. If I had to choose I'd do Gueber.

I would use this booklist from the library and substitute when necessary.

The You Wouldn't Want To Be... series is fun and informative as well.

My kids loved Friends and Heroes from Jelly Telly.

• Like 3

I think I agree that I would use neither, unless your child is really into history. I have used Guerber's Story of the Ancient World for that young, but not the Greek or Roman books. I have no experience with Famous Men, but I believe they are also geared for an older audience.

ETA: I think I would try SOTW 1 if I were you.

Edited by hollyhock2
  • Like 1

I’m doing Famous Men of Middle Ages now with DS 9/3rd Grade and it’s pretty dense and dry so I’m not sure how much he’s actually getting from it. I doubt it would hold the interest of a younger child. I am reading this to DS and DD 6:

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/1845500822/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It really holds their attention, even DD, so I think it’s a great choice  the chapters can be long so sometimes I break up the reading over two sittings. It was recommended in DS VP self-paced Studies.

I second the You Wouldn’t Want Be series. DS has loved them since I first read them to him and he still enjoys them. They do a great job balancing being informative with being fun and interesting to hold his attention  

Edited by ExcitedMama
  • Like 1

On 6/4/2019 at 6:04 PM, Slache said:

Neither. Both are too mature. If I had to choose I'd do Gueber.

I would use this booklist from the library and substitute when necessary.

The You Wouldn't Want To Be... series is fun and informative as well.

My kids loved Friends and Heroes from Jelly Telly.

I am using Veritas Press for history. The cards list Famous Men. Using most of those books. I am not around a library so need to order all the books before the school year.