Menu

What's with the ads?

G5052

Professor Rant

I've been a community college professor for 21 years. I've taught scads of students from all walks of life and all types of education. I've taught students 15-75 years old. I've taught students who lived in their car, and students who were wealthy. I've taught dual enrollment students and hardened vets who have saw the ugly side of war. You name it, and I've taught a student like that.

And the homeschooled kids are pretty much no different than the rest of my students. Really. Just as many of them fail, aren't focused, are rude to me, come to class drunk, etc. etc. as any other type of student. In my experience, they really don't stand out. And that's the consensus among the faculty where I've worked. 

I realize that there are all kinds of homeschoolers out there, and that community college is a different population.

But it's a myth that homeschooled kids universally do well in college. Not at the two community colleges where I've taught. There I said it.

• Like 20

In all honesty, I'm just glad that they're not worse. I've known a few too many home schoolers IRL who started with good intentions but whose kids didn't really get a decent high school education. Either they had unidentified LDs that went unremediated and undocumented so now they're young adults who aren't able to enlist or find a trade that pays well enough to live on or the hs mom just sort of burned out and didn't get around to writing papers and doing algebra 2. (I live in a completely unregulated state where "Heaven not Harvard" is a common mantra.)

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, daijobu said:

Except our kids.  Our kids are awesome.  😏

Maybe yours. And lots of others on here. But I have human children & while I sure hope none ever show up to class drunk, they are not perfect and not all of them are superstars academically (but that doesn't stop me from loving & being proud of them).