Menu

Feeling Discouraged about healthy eating

Elizabeth86

I would love to be a healthy cook, but I have a lot of little kids and I just really don't enjoy cooking and my family is picky and other excuses.  lol.  I feel guilty about not serving 100% healthy meals.  Not to mention, how do you even decide what is healthy?  Some people are vegan, some gluten free and so on.  I mean, what is healthy?  I feel I always have some bottled or packed sauce or whatever that isn't pure and healthy.  Ugh.  I get overwhelmed looking for and trying new recipes.  What are your tastiest and easiest healthy dinner.  Also, lunches?  It's sandwiches and junk.  Ugh. I am bad at lunch.  

Don't let perfect get in the way of good.

I hate cooking.  I'm not good at it and I get overwhelmed planning.  My "good" is doing a meal subscription service 3 days a week, half the year.  I know whatever is in the box will be a variety, and mostly whole foods, so I figure if I can do that, I'm doing okay.  The rest of the week either dh cooks or I pull out a recipe I know well, or whatnot.

Our easiest and tastiest meals are mostly Asian inspired or Greek.  I finally found a curry my kids will like (Valdovan) so I coat the chicken, cook it up in a pan with sliced onions, and throw it on pitas with tzatziki sauce. A small salad is prepped for the side, and yeah, it might be a bag of greens with tomatoes and cucumbers.  My kids'll eat chickpeas now, too, so those often get cooked up and thrown in meals.  That was a loooooong time coming, though. 

Right now I have already-grilled chicken and baby bok choy in my fridge.  Guess we're having sesame chicken tonight.  I'll throw it over rice and take the last of the radishes, cut them thin, and marinate them in rice vinegar with a bit of salt and pepper to serve on the side.

• Like 3