Menu

What's with the ads?

MEmama

Feminine products are expensive!

I've been using a diva cup for several years and had forgotten how expensive they are!

This morning I bought groceries at Target for the food bank donation pick up tomorrow by our postal service, and remembered to add in a few boxes of pads and tampons. Holy cow!! Of course the exorbitant price means it's all the more necessary to donate as many as possible, so I made a mental note to keep on the lookout for sales so I can stock up (do they go on sale?). I truly wish I could donate a cup to every woman who can use them...

The experience was yet another reminder to how very fortunate I am to be able to afford what should be a basic right (being as they are an absolute necessity), as well as how powerless I am to truly help others for whom the expense is a burden. :(

Just had to vent.

• Like 10

*Everything* is skyrocketing in price, it seems especially necessities. We are also experiencing higher property taxes, higher utilities, and higher insurance premiums/deductibles/copays. This is not a well-to-do area and it is really bothering me to hear about the church food pantry shelves emptying faster than people can donate, and to see elderly people at the grocery store trying to choose between milk OR bread. Those of us who have been deemed "middle class" are feeling like that term has been redefined to mean "Probably won't lose the house, no guarantees, but this is going to be SO tight. I hope nobody gets sick, or we're done." Middle class used to mean "Able to share with your neighbor, give an impressive percentage to charity, and put a little in the bank each month."

• Like 12

56 minutes ago, MEmama said:

I've been using a diva cup for several years and had forgotten how expensive they are!