Menu

Advice: pulling 8yo and 7yo out of public school

Does anyone have experience with taking their children out of public school to homeschool them? I am a homeschool graduate myself and the man I am marrying has two children ages 7 and 8. He has always wanted them to be homeschooled and now they will have that opportunity with me as their mom. I am a little nervous about what it will be like transitioning them into homeschool though and would love any advice or stories you have to share!

I took my oldest out at that age and it was a little rough finding our footing.  Between trying to "do school" and working through habits the actual school had established, it took us about two years to really get comfortable and successfully hit the issues that the school had created.  It was a learning curve for both of us.  He had to learn to work one on one and I had to learn how to teach and develop a philosophy of education.

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, HomeAgain said:

I took my oldest out at that age and it was a little rough finding our footing.  Between trying to "do school" and working through habits the actual school had established, it took us about two years to really get comfortable and successfully hit the issues that the school had created.  It was a learning curve for both of us.  He had to learn to work one on one and I had to learn how to teach and develop a philosophy of education.

So what issues did you find school had created and how did you deal with them? Purely educational or behavioral as well?

13 minutes ago, sa109 said:

So what issues did you find school had created and how did you deal with them? Purely educational or behavioral as well?

Both.
Reading, writing, and handwriting were taught so poorly they may have well have just set fire to the work rather than give it to children.  It was heavy on the sight words with an entire lack of writing instruction.
Math made him feel stupid.
No other subjects were taught with any regularity.