Menu

What's with the ads?

WendyAndMilo

Learning Curve going from self-taught to online classes?

Is there a learning curve with online classes that I should be aware of?  DS has spent this entire year teaching himself all subjects (choosing when and how to get everything done during the day).  Next year, he will be taking four online classes (CLRC) and 2-3 still at home.  I'm wondering if I should sign him up for a summer class to get him used to it?

(I'm not too worried about him figuring out the tech part of it).

• Like 1

For us, the time commitment is different between home-taught and online classes. DD can absorb a lot of information very quickly, and I usually only have her do enough work to show mastery. Online classes have different expectations for the work produced, and can often require 2-3 times more output than I do at home (or simply written output as opposed to discussion, which is my kid's favored way to learn). Scheduling and time management then become issues.

Managing workload for a class that can meet once per week, have one due date per week, but require putting aside time 3-5 days per week to get the work done is a skill to develop.

• Like 3

I think there is a learning curve. When my oldest switched back to online school from homeschooling, I sat with him until he got the schedule and different teacher requirements down. He's a self-starter and box-checker, so it was a matter of helping him figure out how to set himself up for success and then following up often to make sure he wasn't overwhelmed or falling behind. 

• Like 1

Well, mine haven't had a problem with the switch, but there is always a learning curve with any new teacher or tech. You said you don't think the tech will be an issue, so I will just note that my kids had to learn to scan homework (or save as a PDF or certain format) and submit. Canvas, which CLRC uses, is pretty easy to figure out.