Menu

What's with the ads?

LVG

How much to charge?

A friend that’s a real estate agent asked me to give her a quote on cleaning a clients house that is prepping to be put on the market.  I assume a deep cleaning (baseboards, wiping cabinets, etc). One thing she also mentioned is that these people smoke in one of the rooms and will need to have the walls cleaned.  I live in NC.  What do you feel is a reasonable price to charge?  I’ve looked up numbers online, but still not sure what to really charge considering this is a side job, and I’m not a professional or licensed company.  What would you charge?

When we had FIL's house cleaned in prep for putting on the market, we paid a cleaning lady (not a company, did it as more of a side job, but definitely had years of cleaning experience.) I want to say we paid her a total of $170.  

With all of those variables you might just quote an hourly rate.  They may or may not accept that, but you could reasonably say that that is the only way to quote it without seeing it first.

Another option is to quote high but say that it might be less.

Do you want the job?  If you’re responsible for getting smoke smells out of the house, it could become a real nightmare.  If you don’t want the job you can either say that or say that you’re willing to clean thoroughly but are not responsible for smell removal, and insist on half of the (large) payment in advance.  

• Like 3

I don't have enough experience to give you reliable feedback, but did want to say 170 seems very low for my area for a whole house deep cleaning, and it definitely depends on square footage. For 1700 square feet, just as example, I'd be thrilled as a client if an estimate for a whole house deep clean including washing walls in one room came in under 300, but I'd expect more like 400-600. I also know there are companies that would charge much more.