Menu

Teaching Foreign Language if you don't know a foreign language

tdbates78

So my title speaks for itself. I would love to teach my 3rd graders a foreign language next year. Just not sure I'm adept to do that. I took 4 years of Spanish in high school (way back when) and I took 3 semesters of college German but I'm not super good at it, certainly not good enough to teach it properly, and I graduated over 10 years ago so I'm rusty with that too. 

So how do y'all teach foreign languages when you don't know the language? Are the teachers guides informative enough to allow you to adequately teach? Or do you outsource? If you use a curriculum and like it please list it. I've looked into the online courses (Rosetta Stone etc) but it seems like the general consensus is it's not enough? 

Thanks!
Tracy

I was feeling the same way about starting another language next year (we already study Latin), and then I remembered that my SIL speaks fluent Portuguese. So, we are studying Portuguese next year! It's not DS10's first choice, but we are going to take advantage of the native speaker that we have access to. Do you have anyone in your orbit that speaks another language and can help you out?

• Like 1

We (husband and I) outsourced German because it was a college elective for us more than two decades ago. We outsourced chinese (heritage) because we don’t want to be the one nagging. DS13 would avoid all work for languages (including English) if given a choice. DS14 likes languages but not as an academic subject so if left on his own won’t do enough work for a high school credit.

However, 4th grade is too early to be concerned about doing for a credit and my kids just had fun with foreign languages at that age. Duolingo app, Mango app, Rosetta Stone CDs (from library), Living Language CDs (from library) are all nice free choices to get started.