Menu

I think I’ve finally become a veteran homeschool mom

HSmomof2

This evening I had dinner with some old friends that were all in a mom’s group with me when our kids were toddlers. We haven’t really stayed in touch until recently one mom organized this reunion dinner. A couple of these ladies are PS teachers, and didn’t know I homeschooled. Anyway, they got into this whole thing about homeschooled kids that come to PS—-they’re behind, don’t know how to get along with others, are weird, etc. The same tired stereotypes that have been around forever.

In the past this would have upset me, caused me to doubt what I was doing, and I would have been hurt and stewed for days.  But, it seriously didn’t phase me at all. I’ve been homeschooling for 12 years now, my teens aren’t behind academically, they get along with others just fine, have friends, are typical moody teens sometimes,  but pretty much are delightful young people. The best part was when we were all talking about what our kids were up to.....I talked about the things they like to do and are involved with, casually slipping in they’re homeschooled. The look on these to ladies’ faces was priceless.

Edited by HSmomof2
Edited to remove giant emoji
  • Like 18

11 minutes ago, Arctic Mama said:

Bravo.  Seriously, sometimes I just want to fork someone over the ignorance, but you handled it perfectly.

Initially I was going to be mad, but I decided in the situation that to be defensive would only strengthen their opinions. I think it was a divine intervention because normally I would have been upset.(: Instead, I didn’t even flinch and was completely nonchalant about homeschooling. I guess I finally realized I don’t have to defend our family’s decisions, and it will help break the old stereotypes by being different than what they expect. 

Edited by HSmomof2
  • Like 7