Menu

What's with the ads?

Æthelthryth the Texan

s/o Math TED Talk- why is there a race to Calculus?

The math TED talk was interesting, and made me realize I am old. My high school did not offer Calculus, period, nor did the surrounding schools at that time. The ONE kid in my graduating class who took it was bussed to a local college for the course.  

What changed, and why has it trickled down into high school level in the last 20 or so years? What's the rush? 

• Like 3

I don't agree that AP cal is something new.  I graduated from high school in 1984 and I took calculus in high school.  

I think that what has changed is the shift in ideology that all students should attend college.  When I was in high school, there were numerous paths within our high school.  There were a whole host trade programs (auto shop, brick laying, horticulture, etc) on the same campus as the college prep and AP courses.  There was 1 section of each AP course offered (and even back then my very rural school offered cal, bio, chem, English, world, and probably a few others that I no longer remember.  I took several of those.)  Most students were not taking APs.  Most were either pursuing trades or in your standard CP courses.

Edited by 8FillTheHeart
  • Like 9

I am not from the US system. I found this Brookings 2008 article which is what I understood as the reason for the push for algebra in 8th grade.