Menu

What's with the ads?

2Peanuts

Question for those with high school aged kids with ASD

I've got lots of questions here! First, background....

I've got an almost-10-year old DS who is on the spectrum and has no cognitive delays. He can do grade-level (this year, 4th grade) reading & math. I've been homeschooling him for 2 years now and have yet to do any formal history or science lessons with him. My primary focus up to this point has been strengthening his reading comprehension. I've done a lot of history & science through reading, but it's been limited to neat places/people and neat animals. This is great for elementary school but as he gets older....

So...my question is --- for those who've homeschooled their kids through high school, what is a reasonable academic program as we move forward, especially if we're not sure whether or not higher ed is in the picture for him. I'd like to think it's a possibility if he wants to go for it, so I want to make sure he is prepared. However, I'm also open to the idea that maybe college won't be in the cards for him, in which case, I'd just like him to be educated enough to do things like get a job, vote, etc. 

What kind of program did you follow for history & science? Did you follow the 4-year cycle of classical education? I've found that DS has trouble reading about historical events because he can't picture them or there's so much background info I have to fill in, he forgets what the main point of the lesson is. (Example: Reading about the Golden Spike that united the transcontinental railroad. Had to describe what transportation was like back then; had to describe how hard it was to blast away bits of mountain to lay the tracks; had to do a quick review of geography.... By the time I circled back to the actual Golden Spike, I had completely lost him!)