Menu

Occupational Therapy Assistant

bluebonnetgirl

Beth R
7:18am   #30373  

Has anyone’s child pursued an Occupational Therapy Assistant degree?   It is a 2 year degree with excellent pay (average $60,000) and benefits.

Our local community college will be offering this degree in 2020.  My child graduates in 2021, so good timing.

My kiddo is interested in art therapy, but that is a masters level degree and the pay is $45,000,  which is $15,000 less and 4 more years of college.

I have read that occupational therapy assistants can utilize art therapy in their job.  True?

Would love to learn more about this degree and career.
Edited by bluebonnetgirl

I am a physical therapist (I work one day/week), but I obviously work with OTs and COTAs.  Occupational therapists work in a wide variety of settings, from schools, to clinics, to nursing homes, to private industries.  In each setting they may be working on different goals with patients.  In a skilled nursing center they might be working with a patient to make adaptations to allow them to care for themselves more easily at home.  In school, they may be working on fine motor skills to improve writing/keyboarding.  

I would have your daughter ask herself a few questions:  What interests her in art therapy?  Does she have a motivation to improve the lives of others?  Does she enjoy art and wants to share that joy with others?  Does she enjoy science (at least anatomy, etc).

I could definitely see art being incorporated into occupational therapy, but it would also require so much more than that.  And art therapy may not be appropriate for every patient depending on the goals of the patient and the deficits they currently have.